Our country was founded by immigrants, and since its creation, America has been the main safe haven in the world for people of all races, ethnicities, and religions to be free under our Constitutional rights.  Immigrants have contributed much to society throughout the history of the United States and have been welcome in our cultural melting pot.  But now this has all been changed.

As I am sure everyone knows, our newly elected President recently instituted a ban on immigration into this country from citizens of seven Muslim countries and all refugees seeking safety in a less turbulent land.  Obviously, such an unprecedented act has resulted in a significant amount of turmoil in America and beyond.  Being a white male born in New York City, the ban does not personally affect me or any members of my family, but it drastically affects millions of people who, as of a few days ago, shared the exact same American freedoms that I did.

This is yet another example in our history of mass discrimination and racism towards everyone and anyone who is not a natural-born caucasian.  We’ve seen it countless times in our readings for this class and from other sources, as well, but the same kind of thing keeps happening as if no one cares enough to stop it.  And, to be honest, I have no idea what can be done.  I wholeheartedly believe that the founders of our nation would be shocked and appalled at the new immigration ban as millions of people are, yet it still passed.  It already seems as though there is no end in sight, but we have to be able to do something to protect and save the hundreds of millions of people that will be negatively affected by this act and more to come.

This is only the beginning, and while I know that I personally am safe, I cannot stand idly by and watch my country continue to slander, demean, discriminate against, and ban those who are simply of a different ethnicity than myself.  I do not yet know what I and others can do to help, but it is essential that we figure something out as soon as possible.

