In class today, we spoke about the possibilities of both Twyla and Roberta being black or white. I can honestly say this discussion surprised me. When I read the story last night, I automatically assumed Twyla was black and Roberta was white. However, there were many things that I didn’t take into account in the reading. I can’t help but feel like my assumption that Twyla is black in the story is a racist assumption. Everything I noticed about Twyla was something I associated with a black person. But I found it hard to say those things when discussing the possibility of Twyla being black in my group today. For some reason, I felt uncomfortable saying that Twyla was black because she was a part of a lower class, because she was working as a waitress, because her son went to a community college, or even because the name “Twyla” sounded black. I felt uncomfortable about making these assumptions because I realized that these assumptions were racist. All I keep thinking about is the fact that the author never stated that Twyla was black, but I assumed it based on racist stereotypes. All the author said was that Twyla and Roberta were of different races. I never once thought that Roberta could be the black child. This discussion gave me some insight into the way I, and many others, make generalizations about different races. Many other members of my group stated that they agreed with me; they also believed that Twyla was black. I am still ashamed of my assumption that Twyla was black based on racial stereotypes. However, I am glad I have read this story and made this mistake. As we discussed in class, Toni Morrison intended for her readers to make these kinds of mistakes. She wanted to play with readers’ minds regarding racial stereotypes. From Morrison’s piece, I now know to pay more attention to details and not make assumptions when reading stories, like this one, about multiple races.

